Advocacy and Youth Leadership Programs

Community Integrated Prevention (CIP) campaigns on alcohol, tobacco and other drug prevention (ATOD) policy advocacy and mobilization take place in the South Bay of Los Angeles County target key cities. Organizers work closely with adult volunteer based community coalitions who serve as a voluntary substance abuse resource and advocacy arm for their target community.

CONTACT YOUR LOCAL COMMUNITY ORGANIZER TO JOIN.

  • Carson – Richard Bis, rbis@aadapinc.org
  • Gardena – Traci Saruwatari, tsaruwatari@aadapinc.org
  • Inglewood – Melissa Loza, mloza@aadapinc.org
  • Long Beach– Tiffany Tan, ttan@aadapinc.org
  • Tobacco Prevention- Vy Tran, vtran@aadapinc.org and Aidan Ruiz, aruiz@aadapinc.org

Volunteer high school youth groups meet on a weekly basis for training, planning and leadership development activities. The youth advocates collaborate to host drug free events and drug prevention campaigns addressing youth issues and community policy in their respective city/region.

  • CARSON- Carson Youth Student Health Advocates (C-SHA)
    Staff Contact: Richard Bis, rbis@aadapinc.org
  • GARDENA- High School Task Force (HSTF)
    Staff Contact: Traci Saruwatari, tsaruwatari@aadapinc.org
  • INGLEWOOD- Youth United in Creative Action (YUCA)
    Staff Contact: Melissa Loza, mloza@aadapinc.org
  • (Coming Soon) LONG BEACH- Tiffany Tan, ttan@aadapinc.org

Prevention 365 Social Media

Prevention 365 is an online information and discussion series on substance use/abuse prevention-related topics and its relevance to current community issues. For more information please contact Nelson Nailat at nnailat@aadapinc.org.


University/College Internship Experience

Through Project Choice, Community Prevention provides hands-on community outreach experience for local South Bay college students. Volunteer interns earn hours, and more importantly, experiential understanding of community engagement through assessment projects, planning and implementation of events, public speaking opportunities and policy advocacy exposure.
Contact: Vy Tran at vtran@aadapinc.org

CIP- Main Office

13931 Van Ness Ave
Gardena, CA 90249

Tel: (323) 293-6284
Fax: (323) 295-4075

CIP- Satellite Office

14112 S. Kingsley Drive
Gardena, CA 90249
Tel: (310) 768-8064
Fax: (310) 768-2779

Program Coordinator: Tom Chic

Languages Available: English, Tagalog, Spanish, Khmer, Vietnamese

Certification #190112EN (exp 10.31.25)