Policy Advocacy and Youth Leadership Programs

Community Prevention campaigns on alcohol, tobacco and other drug prevention (ATOD) policy advocacy and mobilization take place in the South Bay of Los Angeles County target key cities. Organizers work closely with adult volunteer based community coalitions who serve as a voluntary substance abuse resource and advocacy arm for their target community.

CONTACT YOUR LOCAL COMMUNITY ORGANIZER TO JOIN.

  • Carson – Richard Bis, rbis@aadapinc.org
  • Gardena – Jessica Abaya, jabaya@aadapinc.org
  • Gardena – Traci Saruwatari, tsaruwatari@aadapinc.org
  • Inglewood – Marlon Pascual, mpascual@aadapinc.org
  • El Segundo – Tiffany Tan, ttan@aadapinc.org
  • South Bay – Carol Almeda, calmeda@aadapinc.org
  • South Bay – Jeanne Shimatsu, jshimatsu@aadapinc.org

Volunteer high school youth groups meet on a weekly basis for training, planning and leadership development activities. The youth advocates collaborate to host drug free events and drug prevention campaigns addressing youth issues and community policy in their respective city/region.

  • CARSON- Carson Youth Student Health Advocates (C-SHA)
    Staff Contact: Richard Bis, rbis@aadapinc.org
    Staff Contact: Tiffany Tan, ttan@aadapinc.org
  • GARDENA- High School Task Force (HSTF)
    Staff Contact: Jessica Abaya, jabaya@aadapinc.org
    Staff Contact: Traci Saruwatari, tsaruwatari@aadapinc.org
  • INGLEWOOD- Youth United in Creative Action (YUCA)
    Staff Contact: Marlon Pascual, mpascual@aadapinc.org

HOT TOPIC TUESDAY

Hot Topic Tuesday is a online discussion series of substance use/abuse prevention-related topics and its relevance to current community issues. We meet on Zoom; for more information please contact Jessica Abaya at jabaya@aadapinc.org.


University/College Internship Experience
Through Project Choice, Community Prevention provides hands-on community outreach experience for local South Bay college students. Volunteer interns earn hours, and more importantly, experiential understanding of community engagement through assessment projects, planning and implementation of events, public speaking opportunities and policy advocacy exposure.
Contact: Jeanne Shimatsu at jshimatsu@aadapinc.org

Community Prevention
2900 S. Crenshaw Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90016
Tel: (323) 293-6284
Fax: (323) 295-4075

Program Coordinator: Jeanne Shimatsu

Languages Available: English, Tagalog, Spanish