Targeting the South Bay Area of Los Angeles County, Community Prevention (CP) affects substance abuse and related issues by fostering environmental change through community action: mobilization of community on policy and advocacy campaigns and issue based awareness, education, promotion through media and event campaigns.

Policy Advocacy and Youth Leadership Programs

Community Prevention campaigns on alcohol, tobacco and other drug prevention (ATOD) policy advocacy and mobilization take place in the South Bay of Los Angeles County target key cities. Organizers work closely with adult volunteer based community coalitions who serve as a voluntary substance abuse resource and advocacy arm for their target community.

  • Carson – Richard Bis, rbis@aadapinc.org
  • Gardena – Jessica Abaya, jabaya@aadapinc.org
  • Inglewood – Traci Saruwatari, tsaruwatari@aadapinc.org
  • El Segundo – Tiffany Tan, ttan@aadapinc.org
  • Redondo Beach – Carol Almeda, calmeda@aadapinc.org

Volunteer high school youth groups meet on a weekly basis for training, planning and leadership development activities. The youth advocates collaborate to host drug free events and drug prevention campaigns addressing youth issues and community policy in their respective city/region.

  • Carson Student Health Advocates (CSHA) – Carson
    Staff Contact: Richard Bis, Community Organizer
  • High School Task Force (HSTF) – Gardena
    Staff Contact: Tiffany Tan & Jessica Abaya, Community Organizers
  • Youth United in Creative Action (YUCA) – Inglewood
    Staff Contact: Traci Saruwatari, Community Organizer

University/College Internship Experience
Through Project Choice, Community Prevention provides hands-on community outreach experience for local South Bay college students. Volunteer interns earn hours, and more importantly, experiential understanding of community engagement through assessment projects, planning and implementation of events, public speaking opportunities and policy advocacy exposure.
Contact: Jeanne Shimatsu at jshimatsu@aadapinc.org

Community Prevention
2900 S. Crenshaw Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90016
Tel: (323) 293-6284
Fax: (323) 295-4075

Program Coordinator: Jeanne Shimatsu

Languages Available: English, Tagalog